IMPORTANT: The forum is in Read-Only mode and registrations have been disabled.

V2.0.28 64 bit

Testing for Echo Boost (2011)

Moderators: alvydas, Avariant, Frederik, giannis, massimo, notareal

Locked
alvydas
KT-Wizard
Posts: 385
Joined: Fri Jun 12, 2009 2:32 pm
Location: Lithuania
Contact:

V2.0.28 64 bit

Post by alvydas »

Hello. After several tests of a new engine v2 .0.28 (64 bit), I agree that the process is faster. It is true that it is faster from 10% to 15% (for pmfg method). It seems to me that the first treatment (Warming Up), as well as faster (on the MLT method).
But the problem is open 3ds file. Do it if I do I import 3ds file to Sketchup and then export the skp file to the 3ds format. if I try to go to the Insert / Global - pop-up window with the message and program crashing(not always). If I select objects on the scene, the list does not activate the left (not always). Sometimes I can not move the environment on scene. Axles activated, but no arrows. I have no experience with large-format scenes and textures, because I have no need for such. so my little observations
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pKIUDWNLuOo 3ds incorect import
Attachments
no axes after selection.jpg
error.jpg
everything is in updated My gallery
Toshiba Satellite A500, I7,4GBram,NVIDIA
Fletch
KT-Team
KT-Team
Posts: 8564
Joined: Fri Oct 27, 2006 2:38 am
Location: Milwaukee, WI USA
Contact:

Post by Fletch »

Giannis told me via email he will look into 3ds/obj import issue with 64bit version.
Does the NEW 32 bit version have the same problem with importing of 3ds or obj files? (my test = no.)
massimo
KT-Wizard
Posts: 606
Joined: Sun Apr 05, 2009 3:58 pm
Location: Italy

Post by massimo »

Well the NEW 32-bit version seems to handle well the OBJ (at least the ones I've tried) while the 64-bit just crashes, but I have problems with many 3ds models (attached a problematic model). Also if I try to select an object in the center window and scale it along an axis...I only manage to scale the axis line. :o
Attachments
lampada_atollo.zip
(59.69 KiB) Downloaded 264 times
Cattura.JPG
massimo
KT-Wizard
Posts: 606
Joined: Sun Apr 05, 2009 3:58 pm
Location: Italy

Post by massimo »

And here is another one.
Attachments
TREERND1.zip
(199.14 KiB) Downloaded 272 times
Cattura_1.JPG
giannis
Site Admin
Posts: 4627
Joined: Mon Jul 04, 2005 9:59 am
Location: Athens, Greece

Post by giannis »

I have downloaded the files and going to fix that :wink:

Does the 32-bit render faster as well? I believe we can gain some more speed, but have to be sure first.

greetings
massimo
KT-Wizard
Posts: 606
Joined: Sun Apr 05, 2009 3:58 pm
Location: Italy

Post by massimo »

Hi Giannis :grin:
Already done some times ago this quite quick test with MLT (BPT) for only two passes. Don't know how significant it is for you... Also the images seem slightly different as dimension.
- KT 2008-->8,50 min
- new 32-bit-->8,27 min
- 64-bit-->7,16 min
The KT's 2008 output seems clearer?
Cheers.
Attachments
64-bit
64-bit
new 32_bit
new 32_bit
KT 2008
KT 2008
alvydas
KT-Wizard
Posts: 385
Joined: Fri Jun 12, 2009 2:32 pm
Location: Lithuania
Contact:

Post by alvydas »

Fletch wrote:Giannis told me via email he will look into 3ds/obj import issue with 64bit version.
Does the NEW 32 bit version have the same problem with importing of 3ds or obj files? (my test = no.)
Kerkythea 32-bit version of 3ds files incorrectly opened well as
Attachments
error2.jpg
everything is in updated My gallery
Toshiba Satellite A500, I7,4GBram,NVIDIA
alvydas
KT-Wizard
Posts: 385
Joined: Fri Jun 12, 2009 2:32 pm
Location: Lithuania
Contact:

Post by alvydas »

I am confused. Old version of the 2019 tworks faster than the new 2028 (32 bit) The scene with the same settings. preset - 06. (pmfg medium + AA3) Pictures and very different!
Attachments
v2019 32 bit.jpg
v 2028 32 bit.jpg
everything is in updated My gallery
Toshiba Satellite A500, I7,4GBram,NVIDIA
notareal
KT-Team
KT-Team
Posts: 4211
Joined: Fri Oct 27, 2006 7:27 am
Location: Finland

Post by notareal »

massimo wrote:Hi Giannis :grin:
Already done some times ago this quite quick test with MLT (BPT) for only two passes. Don't know how significant it is for you... Also the images seem slightly different as dimension.
- KT 2008-->8,50 min
- new 32-bit-->8,27 min
- 64-bit-->7,16 min
The KT's 2008 output seems clearer?
Cheers.
With unbiased one cannot compare passes between different versions. Only way to make comparison is render a certain time, like 15 minutes, and then compare noise (or files size). Even better if you do this with only one thread, so that possible multitasking load will not affect.
notareal
KT-Team
KT-Team
Posts: 4211
Joined: Fri Oct 27, 2006 7:27 am
Location: Finland

Post by notareal »

alvydas wrote:I am confused. Old version of the 2019 tworks faster than the new 2028 (32 bit) The scene with the same settings. preset - 06. (pmfg medium + AA3) Pictures and very different!
When doing a visual comparison, something is different in reflection seen in orange frame.
massimo
KT-Wizard
Posts: 606
Joined: Sun Apr 05, 2009 3:58 pm
Location: Italy

Post by massimo »

notareal wrote:
massimo wrote:Hi Giannis :grin:
Already done some times ago this quite quick test with MLT (BPT) for only two passes. Don't know how significant it is for you... Also the images seem slightly different as dimension.
- KT 2008-->8,50 min
- new 32-bit-->8,27 min
- 64-bit-->7,16 min
The KT's 2008 output seems clearer?
Cheers.
With unbiased one cannot compare passes between different versions. Only way to make comparison is render a certain time, like 15 minutes, and then compare noise (or files size). Even better if you do this with only one thread, so that possible multitasking load will not affect.
Thanks for the explanation. Ok here you have anoter test following your advice: 15 min each, 1 thread, MLT(BPT).
Attachments
NEW_64_bit
NEW_64_bit
NEW_32_bit
NEW_32_bit
KT_2008
KT_2008
Fletch
KT-Team
KT-Team
Posts: 8564
Joined: Fri Oct 27, 2006 2:38 am
Location: Milwaukee, WI USA
Contact:

Post by Fletch »

looks like with that test both 32 and 64 bit are faster at clearing the image.
and 32bit is even faster than 64.
Locked