FAQ  •  Register  •  Login

How to: Translucent Green Material

Moderator: ModeratorGroup

<<

dahovey

Post Wed Nov 10, 2010 12:53 am

How to: Translucent Green Material

I am trying to create a translucent green material, but am having trouble. The material looks ok itself, but creates an unpleasant green tinge on the ceiling and walls adjacent to the material.

I am a beginner, but it seems to me because of diffusion right? How do I remove this effect?

Attached is example photo of material in real world, as well the current settings I'm using.

Appreciate your help.
Attachments
3FormGreen.jpg
current material.
<<

dahovey

Post Wed Nov 10, 2010 12:57 am

Here is example material...
Attachments
RealWorld_017.jpg
<<

notareal

KT-Team
KT-Team

Post Wed Nov 10, 2010 8:23 am

Try this http://www.kerkythea.net/phpBB2/viewtop ... 9854#79854
Just need to change colour.
<<

massimo

KT-Wizard

Post Wed Nov 10, 2010 9:18 am

Try also this one. I've quickly tweakened the material that Notareal suggested accordingly to the image you posted and added a bit of translucency. Enable "volume lighting" under settings-->scene-->global settings before render. You can change the transparency of the material by changing the percentages of weights (see the picture below). The sum of the two weights must be 1.00. :grin:
Attachments
translucent_plastic.jpg
Cattura.JPG
translucent plastic.mat.zip
(14.05 KiB) Downloaded 101 times
<<

notareal

KT-Team
KT-Team

Post Wed Nov 10, 2010 11:04 am

About "unpleasant green tinge" is called colour bleeding and does happen in real life too. For rendering it might come issue if material breaks rules. Meaning that a build material never should reflect more light that it receives.
<<

dahovey

Post Wed Nov 10, 2010 2:36 pm