Post Tue Sep 06, 2016 1:25 pm

How many light source polygons are "many"?

Hey, i am new to all this rendering stuff and it feels a little bit overwhelming, but trial and error should help me fix this.

What I can't seem to overcome are the slow (?) renderings - so I don't even get to trial and error.

So basically I read abouth the mesh LS warnings, etc, but now the question occurs - how many light sources are "many"?
Just to grasp it, i went with a simple scene (4500 faces in Sketchup) of a simple object (hi-fi amplifier). So, not many fancy materials - one rectangular translucent elements, most elements rectangular and cylindrical. There are 2 Light sources in the model - the VU-Meters behind glass (imitated the light by placing one emitting rectangle, and one LED (i tried placing a LE-Circle inside a translucent sphere to avoid making the half-sphere light emitting). Given, I have lots of brushed aluminium elements with layered materials on them.

Now the scene was set up to twilight (say 17:00 hr, November, Europe), and the console tells me there were 360 light sources. Sounds to me like a lot, since I have one rectangle (-> 2 sources?) plus one 12-sectors circle (-> 12?) which totals for me well below 360, even if i made both sides emitting by accident. Now there is the sun from the scene, which produces whatever number of LE-surfaces... Is that a correct number? What should be "normal" rendering times for that?

Now my problem is, that I can't seem to get some decent effects in managable time. I work on a dell t3500, win7 64-bit, wich has Intel Xeon in it (8 cores, but kerkeythea gives me max. 4 to work with - i have some multithreading options off in BIOS, so guess that's alright), 12 GB ram and a Quadro NVS 295 card in it. I know that's not a speed monster, but... 8hrs rendering in 1280x1024 on preset 19 or 20 (MLT - i guess the slowe one was chosen) gives me just 130 passes???

Is that normal?